Do Clothes Make the Woman?

Daily Prompt The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man How important are clothes to you? Describe your style, if you have one, and tell us how appearance impacts how you feel about yourself.

I must admit, unabashedly, I love clothes.

I feel great when I know everything fits well and the style is the envy of all my co-workers. I feel confident, sexy and smart. I don’t spend a lot of money on clothes. You can dress extremely well shopping outlets, bargain stores like TJ Max. I have a friend in every store and her name is Clare Rance (say it slowly and together).

I had a boss once say to me, “I don’t care if it is on sale, I am not paying $20 for a t-shirt.” I get that. She was also very defensive when discussing her work attire….I so wanted to help her find her real size and stop dressing like a linebacker.

Clothes are performance art that you can participate in everyday.

Today, I am feeling very official. Brooks Brothers women’s striped dress shirt, with tan trousers from Ann Taylor, a double string of pearls and cute lace up flats and a large Iacucci handbag. Not fashionable, but an extremely confident look. Tomorrow maybe my hot pink dress and a green scarf and cat sunglasses for the vintage Barbie look.

Side Note: I recently gave my BF’s daughter a Kate Spade bag with a giant Toucan on it and a matching Kelly green Kate Spade wristlet for her college masters graduation. She loved it not just because it is KS, but also because it has an artsy/whimsical side to it that appeals to her sensibilities. Hearing her giggle on the phone to thank me was worth it.

Leave a Reply

