In Response: If I Had a Hammer

Daily Prompt Asks: If you could learn a trade — say carpentry, electrical work, roofing, landscaping, plumbing, flooring, drywall — you name it — what skill(s) would you love to have in your back pocket?

As I previously stated in another blog,Writing 101: Cars, car repair and car maintenance, I am Bob & Rays worst fears, I wrote about my complete inadequacies in all things automotive. True, I am severely lacking in that department of knowledge but somehow, that is not the skill I would want to have.

I think I should wish for something fun.

I already know, in some degree of skill or mastery the following things:

gardening, sowing and crochet, french cooking, basic electrical work, seating a toilet, playing piano, clarinet and able to teach myself the basics of just about any instrument (working on baritone ukulele, hey why not?), basic German, how to dress a 4 harness loom (don’t ask!)…

…I suppose the list could go on, but by making the list I think I know what skill I’d love to perfect even though, in this present day it wouldn’t help me a bit.

Speaking Italian

That is the skill I’d want. It is a beautiful language to listen to and speak. Here is a brief synopsis of my interaction with the Italian language.

When I was in college, I was a pianist and I accompanied vocal majors. Their freshmen/sophomore years were usually spent most of their time learning Italian art songs before moving onto opera, usually Italian.

As their accompanist, you have to sing along in your head, breath when they breath, feel the music. Funny thing after a lesson, you leave the professor’s studio and you think you can sing what you were just playing because you still have the vocalists voice in your head.

Sad truth came out walking down the sidewalk when you opened your mouth to try and imitate the voice you just heard- and out comes a squawk.Met Opera - Le Nozze di Figaro

Anyway, my knowledge of Italian was limited to opera Italian, which boils down to “I love you,” “I hate you” or my favorite, “Just let me die.”

Not very helpful in a conversation.

So in 2012, I had a chance to meet up with a boyfriend in Rome. In preparation, I downloaded some How to speak Italian apps on my i-phone. Believe it or not, it was very helpful! I loved using my newly discovered words to order colazione and pranzo.

I love the rolling R’s and trying to master the emphasis on the right syllable to sound as realistic as possible. My English boyfriend was very impressed with my ability to converse in basic Italian, even being mistaken for an Italian once.

He speaks, Russian and German but didn’t even try to wrap his mouth around the word, pesce or burro, what a chicken! lol.

But now without practice, I’m afraid I’ve lost a lot of that. Not that is was much more than the basic restaurant vocabulary or asking for directions.

I wouldn’t mind being immersed again and really try to speak more….I’m feeling like it is time for another trip.

2 thoughts on “In Response: If I Had a Hammer

  1. “Anyway, my knowledge of Italian was limited to opera Italian, which boils down to “I love you,” “I hate you” or my favorite, ‘Just let me die.’ ” Laughed right out loud at that. 😀

    Don’t know about other states in the US, but here in Utah foreign language immersion is a big thing. Kids decide (in elementary, mind you) what language they want to speak, and half of their class day is spent using that language instead of English. One would think it would get confusing. But a friend’s daughter is doing Chinese immersion. It’s so interesting to see her converse in Chinese with her friends when they’re at home. Amazing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

