Blogging Makes me Hungry

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ingredients.” “What’s the one item in your kitchen you can’t possibly cook without? A spice, your grandma’s measuring cup, instant ramen — what’s your magic ingredient, and why?”

Sitting in my oatmeal colored cube, I read this prompt. Then I went and read other peoples answers. Then I started thinking about my own kitchen and what am I grabbing for all the time….sheesh….not an easy assignment….

Last night I cooked up some chicken ravioli and dressed it up with a concoction of Olive oil, dried oregano, fresh basil from the garden, a little garlic and finally a touch of both white vinegar and balsamic. Added that and some sliced tomatoes and topped with feta. Viola! a meal in one bowl.

In the summer, fresh basil from the garden is my go-to herb. Just cutting it, releases the scent of good eating to come. I went to a local restaurant and they served a cocktail garnished with basil. The smell of slightly bruised basil really added to the fabulous drink. (Note to self: Must go by there again and bribe bartender for recipe)

I use olive oil like it is going out of style…..just about everything I prepare needs it…again, trying to select one ingredient is hard. But then there is balsamic vinegar. From marinades to deserts, I can’t put into words the sweet and tangy party it brings to any meal.

If you have ever read any of Julia Child’s cookbooks, you know what her go-to ingredient is butter.

Browned butter, hollandaise sauce, melted with dry Vermouth, rubbed on the skin of a chicken, duck, turkey, croissants, sauted mushrooms, onions, every vegetable imagineable, etc. I think that would have to be her one essential ingredient…unsalted butter. And I have to say, I’d agree to it’s importance.

Okay, I am sticking with butter gobs and gobs of butter,

Cholesteral be damned, thank you. I’ll have a glass of red to go with that!

Isn’t it lunchtime yet? sigh

3 thoughts on “Blogging Makes me Hungry

Leave a Reply

