Gen Yers… Step Away from the Smart Phone!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Generation XYZ.”

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

I have a lot of issues with the Millennials (Gen Y) of which I will only complain about one of them and then I will compliment, even admire them for another.

Now for the WTF rant part of this blog:

I am going to speak in general terms so please Gen Y’ers don’t get your panties in a bunch but I see a lot of Millennials living up to the “People are too hard to deal with, I’d rather hide behind my computer” philosophy.

I’ve seen lots of young men and women get what they know about life from the computer, watching hours upon hours of Youtube, online movies, dating, gaming, etc. It is enough to make your eyes cross. It is like they are living vicariously through someone else’s Go-Pro rather than doing it themselves. These Millennials have lost all sense of adventure.

This is not life! I remind a Millennial that is near and dear to my heart.

In Japan, there is an entire population of young men who just play online gaming 24 hours a day and parents (of my generation) allowing that to happen. See article http://mic.com/articles/73111/why-thousands-of-young-japanese-men-are-locking-themselves-in-their-rooms

There is nothing like getting out in the world, I mean really putting down the laptop, the smart phone and experiencing things first hand. I loved an article I read about giving your kids a 70’s vacation. It included letting them eat whatever they wanted…..no gluten free crap, soy protein this or sugarless that….we survived it, you will too. All this scrutiny over diets for kids just leads to adult hypochondriacs.

Drink from a garden hose. That’s a good one. I never tasted water any better on a hot summer day.

Go outside, no really it’s possible, like all day long. Leave the cell phone, laptop and anything else requiring an internet connection inside. Find your own entertainment, go for a walk, take a camera and take pictures of stuff… or just read a book- but do it outside.

Make stuff out of things your find and no freaking Googling it or looking it up on Pintrest! Jeez!

On the other side of the coin, if you must stay inside, turn off the laptop, the phone and clean. I mean more than just shove clothes in a drawer. If you are an adult and spend more than 4 hours a day at home on your home computer, I will guarantee that you live a life filled with rubble. Here is my hint to get you started: Give yourself time limits, organize/clean for an hour then play on the computer a ½ hour, the clean for an hour and play for a ½ hour, etc. Set a timer! You will be amazed at what you can get done.

Why does this matter? Your environment affects your behavior. Is all that crap covering every surface really Feng Shui? No, and there are many, ton of research articles that prove it. Don’t believe me, here is a Google search: https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=How+does+your+environment+affect+your+behavior

Okay, now for something good:

I have never seen a generation so willing to accept others for their non-traditional life style choices. I think it is great that more and more are not only accepting but willing to go to bat for people, young and old who don’t fit the mold of how we should look and behave.

Piercing, tattoos, homosexuality, transgendered, bi-sexual, cross-dressers doesn’t matter too much to many I know. I’ve seen numerous examples in the news where Millennials have gone the extra mile to stick up for the bullied and the outcast.

I never thought I’d see it when everyone has the right to marry whomever they choose, no exception. A lot of the momentum to get social norms to change came from Millennials and the courage they showed to come out, to support their gay friends….to take the time to care.

I think this is the right thing to do, but they actually confront it. Good for them and good for us on having them around.

2 thoughts on “Gen Yers… Step Away from the Smart Phone!

Leave a Reply

