The Best Decade Ever If You Don’t Mind Lots of Aqua Net

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Ahhhhh, the 80’s. The best music ever combined with some awesomely bad hair and over-sized, thrift store topcoats with skinny ties, how could you not love it?

Fortunately, for me I get to relive every party-tune, slow dance and breakup song with the help of oldies radio channel. Sometimes, a really rad 80’s song comes on and my boyfriend and I break into instantaneous convulsions, also known as dancing.

His daughters think it’s cute how we “geek-out” together while they shoot video. I am sure somewhere out there are some really embarrassing videos of us doing our thing…..whatever. If watching us be silly makes them laugh, then so be it.

Here are a list of songs that remind me of specific moments:

Sweet Dreams, by the Eurythmics – 1983, the year I graduated from high school, serious attitude in an androgynous suit with cows

Missing You, by Tom Waite, my first break up, in college, terribly over dramatic

I Melt With You, by Modern English, again, another boyfriend who use to sing this to me during gigs

Take On Me, by Ah Ha, when I fell in love with the creativity of music videos at JM’s Pub & Deli

Anything by Blonde, Cyndi Lauper, Madonna, the Go Go’s and the Bangles- girl power! 

Boy George- at 11:00 PM, trying to go to sleep, my freshman room mate, Jane Anne, loved him and wouldn’t believe me when I said he was gay. (hehehe)

With or Without You- by U2, ooooh so many rainy Sundays at college. moody good stuff

There are many other artists that make me twist and shout:

David Bowie, UB40, Prince, Phil Collins, The Clash, Beastie Boys, Billy Idol,  Falco, Heart, Bon Jovi, Foreigner, Tina Turner, the Vapors, Bruce Springsteen, INXS  and oh so much more!

BUT, here is my question for the younger generations:

With the popularity of the internet and self-recording, downloading, file-sharing, and the rise of the independent artist, etc., will we ever see the blockbuster huge names again?

Think about it, let me know what you think- I’m listening.

6 thoughts on “The Best Decade Ever If You Don’t Mind Lots of Aqua Net

  1. There have been blockbuster names well after the rise of that eg rhianna. Should be nothing stopping that. But maybe music production people now need to diversify and have more names on the boil at once because they dont make as much money as they used to? I think groups becoming huge from a cult kind of grassroots thing might not happen so much anymore because there arent these single powerful trendsetting media voices such anymore. People go all over the place for their music now so those kind of acts cant gain momentum (the likes of the white stripes or interpol in the early 2000s maybe being the last good examples of that)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice post btw! Interested to hear about the pop culture of college days in your day first hand. Two decades before mine. And I liked the question. my friend and I have tried to get to the bottom of that before.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I read that you listen to 80’s songs on the oldies station I nearly choked! When I was 16 the oldies were from the 40’s and 50’s! I was SO glad to see at least ONE name in your list of artists that seems to have bridged the generation gap: Tina Turner. Gotta love that woman! And if you ask me, I think the days of the super music stars are all but over. They just fade in and out too fast anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

