Trying a Tattoo on for Size

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Tattoo….You?.”

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

I have nothing against tattoos but then again I am not really for them either, especially on me. You see I live in the third most tattooed city in the US. Tattoos are so common that it does make me question my viewpoint regularly and have conversations with myself on the topic.

Do I think they are attractive? I mean, would I date anyone you knew ahead of time that had a tattoo?

No, not really, I think naked skin is more appealing. A man with a tattoo just doesn’t make me swoon- just a personal preference, like some people I know are totally turned on by a guy with sleeves.

What would I get if I ever changed my mind? 

Hard to say, I am so fickle. I did see once a tiny dragonfly on a wrist picture and I thought, “how cute.” But then again how permanent….something so permanent should have meaning to it and thought behind it….not just an off-the-cuff, totally random idea. What does a dragonfly have to do with my life and who I am…..nothing. Still pondering what image represents me, my life, my joys, my struggles.

What was the most interesting tattoo you ever saw?

Okay, without getting all pervy, I saw a woman in the locker room once with an entire phaleonopsis orchid on her back. The dark green, strap-like leaves just above her panties and two flower stems came up and wrapped on/around her shoulders. Blossoms were dead-on exact for the real thing. She was from Brazil….exotic plant on an exotic woman. Would that work for me? no, definitely not exotic and I’m too cheap- that must have been very expensive.

What other reasons, might you have for not getting a tattoo?

Okay, I hit on the permanence aspect, finding something with meaning, cost….and then there is the pain issue. I hate needles. Plain and simple.

Finally, I like to talk to people who do have tattoos and find out what drove them to it. Was it a major life event or a drunken night out with the girls/guys. There’s always a story!

Maybe I’ll get out my black Sharpie and try that dragonfly on for size.

5 thoughts on “Trying a Tattoo on for Size

  1. The permanence puts me off, also. I might be inclined to get a small one, but I know how much I’ve changed since my youth, and I cringe to think what I might have put on my body back then. A henna tattoo sounds much better to me.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

